Our History

On May 24th, 1879 a group of citizens met at the Chippewa Falls Court House to form a Township Insurance Corporation. At that meeting, a motion was made and carried that the company be called the Eagle Point Fire Insurance Company. The first board of directors was well represented by a group of men whose names would be remembered well over 100 years later. Many of their descendants are among our policyholders today.

On June 7th, 1879 the company was officially organized with a full slate of Officers and Directors and a set of by-laws. Initially, thirty eight policies were issued. By the end of the year, policy count totaled 70. The largest policy was issued for $2,400.00 and the smallest for $100.00. The first loss occurred in 1880 and a payment of $3.00 was issued to settle the claim.

Eagle Point Mutual Time Line:

1879 — Official founding of the Eagle Point Mutual Fire Insurance Company. Office established in the home of W.B. Bartlett.

1920 — Office moved to Metropolitan Building in Chippewa Falls.

1933 — Office moved to 206 1/2 Bridge St.

1941 — Board voted to change from a post assessment basis for collecting premiums to the more modern method of advance premiums.

1958 — Began writing windstorm coverage.

1964 — Began writing city property.

1965 — Expanded from the original 9 townships to 4 counties. The office moved to present location at 23 W. Central St

1967 — Purchased building at 23 W. Central St.

1969 — Began writing Homeowners and Farmowners policies with full coverage. Liability, Inland Marine and theft coverage was also made available.

2013 — Expanded to 10 Independent Insurance Agencies writing in 13 counties.

2014 — Operating, on the same beliefs of our founders. Eagle Point Mutual Insurance Company continues to protect our policyholders through affordable coverage combined with great personal service provided by our agents and staff.

2014 — Celebrated 135 years of business. Annual premiums collected total over $1,300,000,00. Insure 1,055 policyholders with Current Policyholder surplus of $2.720,779.00.

2015 — Eagle Point positions itself as a Town Mutual industry leader by converting to a non-assessable company.

2019 – Eagle Point Mutual now works with 14 different agencies and operates in 26 different counties.

Our Territory

We write in the following counties: Adams, Barron, Burnett, Buffalo, Chippewa, Clark, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Jackson, Juneau, La Crosse, Monroe, Marathon, Pepin, Price, Pierce, Polk, Rusk, Sawyer, St. Croix, Taylor, Trempealeau, Vernon, Washburn, and Wood.